IAED Boards/Councils


The Alliance Board

The Alliance Board establishes and promotes working relationships between the Academy and other industry standard-setting and governmental groups to foster joint position paper development, co-sponsorships, and mutual cooperation and recognition programs.

For more information contact:

The Board of Accreditation

The Board of Accreditation sets standards for quality control, operational compliance, case review, scoring formulas, and for formal recognition as an Academy Accredited Center of Excellence ("ACE"). Recognition by this Board provides an independent evaluation to verify and document compliance levels with "20 Points", covering all aspects of a comprehensive emergency dispatch program-from quality assurance and improvement to direction and control by medical, fire or police advisors, pre-arrival instructions, continuing education, and protocol interrogation and response. Accreditation is the highest honor that the Academy can bestow to a dispatch center and demonstrates to employees, patients, competitors and the community a long-term commitment to excellence.

For more information contact:
  • Ing. Christof Constantin Chwojka email
  • Board of Accreditation Chair
  • Weyerburg, Austria

The Board of Certification

The Board of Certification provides formal review and testing procedures, awards, and recognition for individual accomplishments, and an international certification registry for trained Emergency Dispatchers and related telecommunications professionals. This Board maintains standards and requirements for obtaining and maintaining Academy certification as an EMD, EFD, EPD, ED-Q, Executive, Associate, and Instructor, as well as policies, procedures and practices related to denying, suspending, or revoking certification or other Academy recognitions.

For more information contact:
  • Pam Stewart email
  • Board of Certification Chair
  • Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
  • 801-746-5693

Boards of Curriculum

The Curriculum Council oversees development and approves content and consistency of the certification courses and their supplemental materials (i.e., manuals, tests, multimedia, policies, etc.). The Council also provides feedback and expertise with regard to other Academy-approved courses, as well as ensuring that Academy teaching standards comply with positions published and promulgated by other generally accepted industry standard-setting groups such as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), the National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP), the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT), and the American Medical Association (AMA), and the National Fire Protection Association, among others. This Board may recommend new curricula, oversee the development of curricula, modify and revise curricula, and make recommendations to approve or disapprove curricula.

For more information contact:
  • Vicki Maguire email
  • Medical Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Grand Rapids, MI, United States
  • Mike Thompson email
  • Fire Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Salt Lake City, UT, United States
  • Jaci Fox email
  • Police Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Medicine Hat, AB, Canada

  • Susan Marsan email
  • Emergency Telecommunicator Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Canton, GA, United States
  • John Lofgren email
  • ED-Q Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Colorado Springs, CO, United States
  • Jay Fitch email
  • Communications Center Manager Board of Curriculum Chair
  • Platte City, MO, United States

The Council of Research

The Council of Research facilitates documentation, academic validation, and formal study related to the safe and effective practice of emergency dispatch. Existing material in the public safety literature is reviewed, organized, archived, indexed and made more widely available via Academy Journal articles, reprints, libraries, and the internet. Specific areas of interest may be identified and earmarked for additional research, which is then funded or conducted under the direction of this Council. The Council works directly with the Academy's Division of Academies and Standards.

For more information contact:
  • Marc Gay email
  • Research Council Chair
  • Magog, Quebec, Canada

The Council of Standards

The Council of Standards is dedicated to the continued revision and refinement of the Emergency Priority Dispatch System™ (EPDS) protocols. To insure a consistent and standardized evolution of the EPDS, this Council is composed of representatives from various International Standards Committees as well as a "Readers of the Council" working subcommittee.

The Readers first evaluate and organize Proposals for Change, make written pro or con statements, and finalize proposed text and format for changes positively recommended. The full Council of Standards then votes on each valid Proposal for Change prior to adoption and release in subsequent updates to the EPDS protocols, which are then localized, translated, approved, and adopted worldwide by each International Standards Committee.

  • Brett Patterson email
  • Medical Council of Research Chair
  • Clearwater, Florida, United States
  • Gary Galasso email
  • Fire Council of Standards Chair
  • Salt Lake City, UT, United States
  • Tami Wiggins email
  • Police Council of Standards Chair
  • Forest Hill, MD, United States
  • Michael Spath email
  • ED-Q Council of Standards, Chair
  • Ben Lomond, CA, United States